Posted by: Joelle Jameson | August 16, 2010

The New Yorker Book of Poems Dance Party

B-52's concert at Busch Gardens last month (I expect you to dance with as much enthusiasm when you listen to the show)

I wasn’t going to do a show this week because I had to postpone an interview, but at the last minute was moved to have another dance party type show. I did that back in April with the poetry of Edna St. Vincent Millay and a lot of upbeat music to cheer myself up after being sick. And this week I feel the need to cheer myself up after being offered a much needed job and then having it cruelly yanked away from me. I don’t want to complain, I don’t want to have a pity party, I just want to dance it out, and since I happen to run this radio show, you all are lucky enough to share that with me. Never mind the somewhat inane song-poem pairings.

I’m really excited about the poems on today’s show; I’ve been carrying around The New Yorker Book of Poems (1974) for a few years without bothering to open it. Thank God I finally did. I’m in love with these poems.

This show will be archived on cyberstationusa.com on Sunday, August 22.

Poems:

“The Companions” by Howard Nemerov

“Change of Address” by Kathleen Fraser

“Fish” by Emily Townsend

“The Racer’s Widow” by Louise Gluck

“Fairy Story” by Robert Penn Warren

“Instead of a Journey” by Michael Hamburger

“When the Vacation is Over For Good” by Mark Strand

“The Valley” by Stanley Moss

“Cadenza” by Ted Hughes

Songs:

“Go!” by Letters to Cleo

“A Modern Way of Letting Go” by Idlewild

“Why Bother” by Weezer

“Shut Up and Let Me Go” by The Ting Tings

“Goodnight and Go” by Imogen Heap

“I’m a Fool” by Letters to Cleo

“Good Morning (The Future)” by Rogue Wave

“Good Days Bad Days” by The Kaiser Chiefs

“Last Person” by Jenny Owen Youngs

“Local Boy in the Photograph” by The Stereophonics

“That’s the Way Life Goes” by Jimmy Cliff

“You Got It All . . . Wrong” by The Hives

“Goodbye-Goodbye” by Oingo Boingo

“Gone Daddy Gone” by Gnarls Barkley

“(Manifest)” by The Weakerthans

Leave a Reply

Categories

